Frustrating Internet Things: AdAge

I wanted to type a comment on an AdAge article about content marketing not being as effective. But to do that I had to become a member of the site. No big deal, right?

Wrong. Their signup process is awful. I’l walk you through it.

Click Become a Member.

Choose your membership level (they have various tiers ranging from $109-$329/year).

Choose to register through:

  1. LinkedIn, Facebook, Google, etc OR
  2. The old fashioned way

So I choose to link my account through LinkedIn. Makes sense, right? I wouldn’t mind having it show up on my professional account that I do professional things.

“Too bad,” says AdAge. “Thanks for the LinkedIn integration, but you still have to fill out your name, email, and password.”

“Huh? But I already have a log-in. It’s my LinkedIn. We’ve been through this, AdAge.”

“Please register with username, email, password.

Please register with username, email, password.

Please register with username, email, password.”

Sigh. Fuck this. I wonder if Ad Age’s employees have ever had to register. I would assume that if they had, this problem would not exist. I’m a big believer in dogfooding (internal employee testing). We do a lot of it where I currently work, and I think it’s useful in surfacing frustrating experiences. Not only that, it shows that all of your employees really believe in what they’re trying to build.

 

Post-registering with LinkedIn. Notice the verification that it is me.

Post-registering with LinkedIn. Notice the verification that it is me.

After clicking "Register" at the bottom of the page, I get this error. Notice the OR

After clicking “Register” at the bottom of the page, I get this error. Notice the “Or”. Thanks for the “choice”.

 

Please register with username, email, password.

Please register with username, email, password.

Please register with username, email, password.

 

P.S. AdAge autoplays video. They’re the worst.

 

Got an issue? Here’s a tissue…With my name written on it: Alex Dou, and my email: dou.alexander@gmail.com, on it. I like building websites, analyzing Excel, and talking.

Leave a Reply

